Four Pillars of Healthy Eating

At our Girl Talk on Health event this month our guest speaker Kathryn McCue, Green Mission Specialist at Whole Foods Market®, discussed the Four Pillars of healthy eating. Whole Foods Market’s philosophy for a healthy diet is to focus on these four criteria no matter what dietary path you follow.

Pillar One – Whole Food
Choose foods that are in their most natural state. These foods have undergone very little processing and have been grown or produced without the use of synthetic pesticides or fertilizers. Select foods that are fresh, natural, organic, local, seasonal, and unprocessed.

Avoid refined, highly processed foods, artificial flavors and colors, preservatives, sweeteners and hydrogenated fats.

Pillar Two – Plant Strong ™
Eat more plants no matter what kind of overall diet you consume daily. Incorporate plants in your diet by eating raw and cooked vegetables, fruits, legumes and beans, nuts, seeds and whole grains.

Pillar Three – Healthy Fats
Minimize the use of extracted oils and processed fats and get healthy fats from plant sources such as nuts, seeds and avocados.

Pillar Four – Nutrient Dense
A food’s nutrient density is calculated by comparing its caloric content to it nutrients. Whole Foods stores offer an Aggregate Nutrient Density Index (ANDI) to help you identify nutrient dense foods.

Choose foods with a variety of vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals, and antioxidents.

More details on the Pillars can be found on the website


Kathryn also shared some recipes with us to help us incorporate these foods into our diet that I will post for you in following blogs. But in the meantime you can log on to Whole Foods Market website for healthy recipe ideas.



Leave a Reply